Skip navigation

Search UHD News Archive

Enter search terms:

UHD's College of Business maintains AACSB Accreditation

Tuesday, April 06, 2010 / UHD Public Affairs

TAMPA -- AACSB International announced today that the University of Houston-Downtown’s College of Business has maintained its accreditation.

AACSB accreditation is the hallmark of excellence in business education and has been earned by less than five percent of the world's business schools. Today, there are 593 business schools in 37 countries that maintain AACSB accreditation. Similarly, 173 institutions now maintain an additional specialized AACSB accreditation for their accounting programs.

UHD was among 63 institutions of higher education that maintained their accreditation in business and 17maintained their accreditation in accounting. AACSB announced that 14 institutions of higher learning from nine countries earned accreditation in business and four institutions earned accreditation in accounting.

Founded in 1916, AACSB International (AACSB) is the longest serving global accrediting body for business schools that offer undergraduate, master’s, and doctoral degrees in business and accounting.

City University London (United Kingdom), Drury University (USA), Fudan University (China), Hanyang University (South Korea), Hong Kong Baptist University (China), IESE Business School (Spain), Midwestern State University (USA), Missouri Western State University (USA), Montana State University–Billings (USA), National Taiwan University (Chinese Taipei), Reims Management School (France), The University of Hong Kong (China), Universidad de los Andes (Colombia), and the University of Ljubljana (Slovenia) have earned AACSB accreditation in business, and Kent State University (USA), North Carolina State University (USA), Seton Hall University (USA), and The University of Hong Kong (China) have earned AACSB accreditation in accounting.

“AACSB commends the faculty, deans, directors, and administrative staffs of each institution for their exemplary work in helping their schools earn the highest honor in business school accreditation,” said John J. Fernandes, president and chief executive officer of AACSB International. “We are delighted to welcome the newly accredited schools, and send our congratulations to those that have maintained their accreditation.”

Achieving accreditation is a process of rigorous internal review, evaluation, and adjustment and can take several years to complete. During these years, the school develops and implements a plan to meet the 21 AACSB standards requiring a high quality teaching environment, a commitment to continuous improvement, and curricula responsive to the needs of business.

To realize accounting accreditation, an institution must first earn or maintain AACSB business accreditation. Then, in addition to developing and implementing a mission-driven plan to satisfy the 21 business accreditation quality standards, accounting accreditation requires the satisfaction of an additional set of 15 standards that are specific to the discipline and profession of accounting.

“It takes a great deal of commitment and determination to earn and maintain AACSB accreditation,” said Jerry Trapnell, executive vice president and chief accreditation officer of AACSB International. “Schools not only must meet specific standards of excellence, but their deans, faculties and staffs make a commitment to ongoing improvement to ensure that the institution will continue to deliver high quality education to students.”

Also, as ratified by the Board of Directors of AACSB International, the following schools have earned their maintenance of accreditation in business and/or accounting.

Schools Earning Maintenance of Business Accreditation
Arkansas Tech University (USA)
Audencia Nantes School of Management (France)
Bentley University (USA)
Bloomsburg University (USA)
Bowling Green State University (USA)
California State University, San Bernardino (USA)
Central Michigan University (USA)
The Citadel (USA)
Clemson University (USA)
Columbia University (USA)
East Carolina University (USA)
Fu Jen Catholic University (Chinese Taipei)
George Mason University (USA)
Georgia State University (USA)
Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universitaet Frankfurt am Main (Germany)
Keio University (Japan)
Korea University (South Korea)
La Salle University (USA)
Louisiana Tech University (USA)
Loyola University New Orleans (USA)
Nicholls State University (USA)
North Carolina State University (USA)
Northwestern State University of Louisiana (USA)
The Open University (United Kingdom)
Oregon State University (USA)
Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey-Camden (USA)
Rutgers-The State University of New Jersey-Newark (USA)
Samford University (USA)
San Francisco State University (USA)
Savannah State University (USA)
Seton Hall University (USA)
South Carolina State University (USA)
St. Bonaventure University (USA)
Stanford University (USA)
Stephen F. Austin State University (USA)
Temple University (USA)
Universitaet Mannheim (Germany)
Université Laval (Canada)
University of California, Los Angeles (USA)
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs (USA)
University of Denver (USA)
University of Houston-Downtown (USA)
University of Houston-Victoria (USA)
University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth (USA)
University of Massachusetts-Lowell (USA)
University of Montevallo (USA)
The University of North Carolina at Asheville (USA)
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (USA)
University of North Carolina Wilmington (USA)
University of Northern Iowa (USA)
University of Oklahoma (USA)
University of the Pacific (USA)
University of Pittsburgh (USA)
University of South Carolina Aiken (USA)
University of South Dakota (USA)
University of Strathclyde (United Kingdom)
University of Tennessee at Martin (USA)
University of Toledo (USA)
University of Utah (USA)
West Virginia University (USA)
Western Illinois University (USA)
Willamette University (USA)
Winthrop University (USA)

Schools Earning Maintenance of Accounting Accreditation
Bentley University (USA)
Bowling Green State University (USA)
Central Michigan University (USA)
Clemson University (USA)
George Mason University (USA)
Georgia State University (USA)
Louisiana Tech University (USA)
Nicholls State University (USA)
Ohio University (USA)
Towson University (USA)
University of Denver (USA)
University of Nevada, Reno (USA)
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (USA)
University of Oklahoma (USA)
University of Utah (USA)
West Virginia University (USA)
Western Illinois University (USA)

About AACSB International
AACSB International (The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business), founded in 1916, is a membership association of almost 1,200 educational institutions, businesses and other organizations in 74 countries and territories. AACSB’s mission is to advance quality management education worldwide through accreditation and thought leadership. AACSB accreditation is the mark of quality distinction most widely sought after by business schools—less than 5% worldwide have earned the achievement. As the leading membership and accrediting body for institutions offering undergraduate, master’s and doctorate degrees in business and accounting, the association also conducts a wide array of conferences and seminar programs at locations throughout the world. AACSB’s global headquarters is located in Tampa, Florida, USA, and its Asia headquarters is located in Singapore.

For more information, please visit

Email this article

Bookmark and Share

   Click here to print this page

Find us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   Read Skyline   Join us on LinkedIn   News RSS   Events RSS